scrnshot kcrI am finding that an author who is converting an e-book to a paperback has a lot of work to do. Fortunately, my publisher CreateSpace is a pioneer in the process and has honed it to perfection. My job is to type the manuscript into Microsoft Word according to their guidelines, edit it and get at least one other person to proofread it. By now I have learned how to scan pictures into my computer and use the picture program from the MW toolbar to size them and insert them into the manuscript. With more and more practice, I have become quite expert at getting them placed precisely!

When I am ready, I go into the CreateSpace website and click on the commands that let them know I am here to publish my Kindle e-book as a paperback. Because CreatSpace and Kindle are both owned by Amazon, they will convert my book to the new format at no cost! All I need to do is follow their explicit instructions and fill out their forms. They ask for details of my identity, my book’s title, the number of pages, my choice of dimensions, etc.

They also require an ISBN (international standard book number) so that it can be cataloged by libraries and distributors. I got my number from Library & Archives Canada, although I could have had CreateSpace get it for me. Mine was Canadian; theirs would have been American. I had been advised by Canadian publishers at the Frankfurt Book Fair in 2003 to follow this path and also to create my own imprint name and logo.This makes the author’s copyright solid.

Making a cover was easy with the CreateSpace cover creator, since you can choose from a variety of templates, fonts and pictures to find what suits  your book best. You can experiment and see previews of your book title in different designs and colors until you are satisfied.

When you are ready, you convert your manuscript to a PDF by clicking the appropriate line in MW, then go into CreateSpace. It will tell you when to press ‘upload’, ‘submit’ and ‘save’ until the job is done. If you are in doubt at any step of the way, you can contact support and get immediate help over the phone or by email.

I found the whole process very satisfactory and am now waiting for them to finish reviewing my files. Then I will ask them to send me a proof copy by priority post. Changes can still be made but everything takes time. The last decisions are to accept  what they say the price will be and order as many copies as you wish. Besides the postage for the proof ($25) the books will be your only expense.

Thank you for dropping by. This blog for all lovers of life and language aims to be useful and entertaining. Topics vary from how to build a canoe to how my mom moved from “prince to preacher and fog to bog” as a war bride after world war one. Writing advice is squeezed in between. Find out more about A Book of Kells: Growing Up in an Ego Void, Kathleen’s Cariole Rideand Eating at Church on Amazon, Goodreads or my website.

Happy Reading from Cozy Book Basics!

(Next week I will write about how I plan to promote and sell the paperback.)

